The I Ching oracle is an ancient Chinese system of divination.  It is printed in book form and translated into English is called I Ching: The Book of Changes.

At the outset, the Book of Changes was a collection of linear signs, to be used as an oracle.    The definition of an oracle is a person or agency, an agency being a sign or symbol considered to provide wise and insightful counsel or prophetic predictions or precognition of the future, inspired by the gods. As such it is a form of divination.

When the term oracle is used with an agency, for example, that could be oracle bones, as used in China in the late Shang Dynasty (1600 - 1046 BC), where diviners applied heat to the bones usually ox scapula and or tortoise plastrons and then interpreted the subsequent cracks, however, this method was complicated. 


 The easier method using 50 yarrow stalks or "yarrow sticks", were used subsequently practices in China during the Zhou Dynasty  (1046- 256 BC). This method though easier than the previous oracular bones and tortoise shells, was a slow method, and eventually gave way to a faster and still accurate method. 

The 3-coin method was introduced by Jin Fang, (78-37 BC) just over a thousand years after the Yarrow Stalks method.


The I Ching serves as both an oracle and a book of Taoist wisdom that can provide guidance daily or in special circumstances.

The history of the two well-known forms of the I Ching used for divination, the coins and the Yarrow sticks.


The precursors to these two methods for I Ching, and then touch on the other method used within the I Ching system.

                       I CHING

The term oracle when it is used to describe a person that is an oracle.  This would be for example of the five oracles of Greece, they being Delphi, Also known as the Pythia, she resides at Camp Half-Blood and gives prophecies to demigods who are about to go on quests. According to tradition, the questers are required to consult the Oracle. No prophecy, no quest. This is the oracle in the fifth book of the Trials of Apollo. 


Cumae, The author of the Sibylline Books. This is the oracle in The Tyrant's Tomb.


Dodona, The only oracle not affiliated with Apollo. It is instead sacred to the titan queen Rhea. This is the oracle in The Hidden Oracle.

Trophonius, This oracle is inhabited by the spirit of Apollo's demigod son, Trophonius. This is the Oracle in The Dark Prophecy but ultimately killed.

I will explain and discuss how  I use the I Ching and Tarot together.

I will also explain and discuss some of the different systems around for corresponding the I Ching with the Tarot.

The I Ching, or the Book of  Changes.

The I Ching, or Book of  Changes, is the most widely read of the five Chinese Classics:

"The I Ching". The Book of Changes. Dating back to 3000 B.C.E., this famous oracular book is one of the oldest sacred texts in the world.


These being "The Shu Ching", The Book of Historical Records, this text describes the events dating back to the third millennium, B.C.E., and was written down during the Han Dynasty (23-20 C.E.).

"The Shih Ching", The Book of Odes. This contains poems dating back to 1000-500 B.C.E.

"The Li Ki Part I".

"The Li Ki Part II". The Book of Rites. This text describes Chinese religious practices from the eighth to the fifth-century B.C.E.

When the Oracle is a Person.

© 2019 by Vera Cruickshank. Proudly created with